[Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video


Key information about our institution

Corporate Status

Leeds Beckett University is a higher education corporation, established on 01 April 1989 pursuant to the Education Reform Act 1988. It was granted taught and research degree awarding powers on 4 June 1992 and university status on 26 April 1993.

Constitutional documents

The University’s constitution comprises the Instrument and Articles of Government. Changes to the Instrument can only be made by Order of the Privy Council. Changes to the Articles can be made by the Board of Governors with the consent of the Privy Council.


The Board of Governors is the University's governing body and is responsible for exercising the powers of the University as defined in the Instrument and Articles of Government, the Education Reform Act 1988, the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 and the Higher Education and Research Act 2017. The Board of Governors has a number of standing committees to oversee particular areas of business.

The Vice Chancellor is responsible for the leadership and management of the University, supported by the Senior Management Group and a number of executive groups.

The Academic Board is the University's principal academic authority. Subject to the responsibilities of the Board of Governors and the Vice Chancellor, the Academic Board has oversight of quality assurance and enhancement; learning, teaching, and assessment; and research and scholarly activity. The Academic Board has a number of standing committees to oversee particular areas of business. School Academic Committees are responsible to the Academic Board for overseeing academic activities in each school.

Leeds Beckett in numbers


We offer a 10% discount on postgraduate study fees to our alumni

Terms and conditions apply. See our Financing Your Studies page for more information.

13 & 14

We have 13 academic schools and 14 research centres


Our diverse community is made up of students from 143 countries and territories

24/7 365

Our Library is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, every day of the year


The percentage of all our graduates in work or further study six months after graduating

Source: Destinations of Leavers from Higher Education survey 2016-17. Includes all UK and international undergraduates and postgraduates.


The number of different research strands submitted to the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014


We offer more than 150 undergraduate courses

See our courses here.


We offer more than 190 postgraduate courses

See our courses here.


Our alumni community is made up of more than 176,000 former students


Our history stretches back almost 200 years

Charitable Status

The University is an exempt charity for the purposes of the Charities Act 2011. It is subject to charity law but is not required to register with the Charity Commission. The Office for Students (OfS) became the principle regulator of higher education providers on 1 April 2018, taking over from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). In addition to governors' responsibilities under the Instrument and Articles of Government and to the OfS, members of the Board are also charity trustees and must therefore have regard to the requirements of charity law.

The powers of the University, as defined in the higher Education and Research Act 2017 and the Education Reform Act 1988, are:

(a) to provide higher education; (b) to provide further education;  (c) to provide secondary education suitable to the requirements of persons who have attained the age of 14 years; (d) to provide education which is secondary education by virtue of section 2(2B) of the Education Act 1996; (e) to participate in the provision of secondary education at a school; and (f) to carry out research and to publish the results of the research or any other material arising out of or connected with it in such manner as the corporation think fit’. 

These powers constitute the objects of the University. The charitable purpose of the University, as defined in the Charities Act 2011, is the advancement of education for the public benefit.The members of the Board of Governors are the charity trustees in law.

Modern Slavery Act Transparency Statement

This statement is made pursuant to section 54(1) of the Modern Slavery Act 2015 and constitutes the University’s slavery and human trafficking statement for the financial year ending 31 July 2019.

Finance & Taxation

The University’s financial year runs from 01 August to 31 July.  The University's group VAT registration number is GB 545 3728 31.  The University is partially exempt from VAT as a supplier of education and research.  By virtue of its charitable status, the University is exempt from corporation tax on its primary purpose activities.  The University’s audited consolidated financial statements are published annually.


This letter from Henderson Insurance Brokers Limited provides evidence of the liability insurance held by Leeds Beckett University and Leeds Beckett University Enterprises for the financial year ending 31 July 2019.

Subsidiary Companies

The University undertakes non-primary purpose trading activities through its wholly owned subsidiary company:

  •   Leeds Beckett University Enterprises Limited (registered company number 2369724)

The University also has two partly owned subsidiary companies.

  • Morelife UK Limited (company number: 07107520)
  • MyPeakPotential Limited (company number: 05993393)

The legal name of the corporation is Leeds Beckett University. Its principal place of business and address for correspondence is The Rose Bowl, City Campus, Leeds LS1 3HB.

Our Story

Our values. Our history. Our future.

About our University Arrow Right Icon
Play Our Story Video
Slider Arrow Right Slider Arrow Left
Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button