To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Academics shortlisted for women in sports awards

Two Leeds Beckett University academics are in the running for two prestigious sports awards.

Women in Sport North logo

Professor Sue Backhouse and Dr Leanne Norman, both from the Carnegie School of Sport, have been shortlisted for the Women in Sport North Awards.

Professor Backhouse has been nominated for the flagship Power of Women Sports Award alongside Paralympic champion Hanna Cockcroft, Commonwealth boxing champion Stacey Copeland and fundraiser Dr Hadeel Hassan.

Professor Backhouse said: “Events that celebrate and recognise the achievements of women in sport are so important for establishing gender equality in the industry.

“To be nominated and shortlisted is a huge honour, and I’m delighted to be recognised alongside brilliant women working hard to make a positive difference in and through sport. Awards such as these really help to shine a spotlight on the work of those who deserve it.”

Dr Norman, meanwhile, will be up against Leeds Beckett graduate Libby Cotter and fellow educator Nicola Patrick for the Contribution to Education award.

Dr Norman said: “Our research is grounded in academic, critical thinking with a strong agenda for social change.

“We are proud of our excellent relationships with external stakeholders, and strive to generate useful, impactful research that can be used to underpin strategic change initiatives.”

Peter Mackreth, Dean of Carnegie School of Sport, said: “This is deserved recognition for Sue and Leanne, who are leaders in their fields nationally and globally.

“Having two colleagues shortlisted for the awards is a reflection of the game-changing work in sport research and participation carried out at Carnegie School of Sport.”

The awards, which were founded by TV business expert Kate Hardcastle, follow the Women in Sport North conference, which connects women working in the industry across the North of England.

The ceremony, hosted by BBC presenter Tanya Arnold, takes place at the University of Huddersfield on Friday 8 November.

Back to Top Button